Nobel Prize Winners 2017

Nobel Prize Winners 2017

Nobel Prize Winners 2017

Nobel Prize in PHYSICS



The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 was divided, one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.

Nobel Prize in CHEMISTRY



The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 was awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution”.

Nobel prize in MEDICINE



The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2017 was awarded jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm.




Nobel Prize in LITERATURE




The Nobel Prize in Literature 2017 was awarded to Kazuo Ishiguro who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.

Nobel  PEACE Prize




The Nobel Peace Prize 2017 was awarded to International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) “for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons”.

Nobel Prize in Economics




The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017 was awarded to Richard H. Thaler “for his contributions to behavioural economics”.




History of Nobel Prize

  • The foundation of Nobel Prize was laid by Alfred Nobel, on 27th November 1895.
  • Alfred Nobel was a Swedish chemist who invented Dynamite.
  • He signed his last testimony and gave away a large share of his possession and fortunes to a series of prizes in the fields of literature, physics, chemistry, physiology and peace.
  • A 6th prize, in economics, was established in 1968 by Sveriges Riksbank (the Swedish central bank) and is known as the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel.
  • The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in the year 1901, which is five years after Nobel Alfred’s death.